LGBTQ Band Composers Project

The intent of project is to compile a list of pieces by composers who identify as members of the LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and additional gender/sexuality minorities) community and who have written works for band. The initial results of this project will be made available in November 2016 on the Lesbian and Gay Band Association's website for public use. After that time, submissions will still be accepted and the report will be treated as a working document and resource for conductors, educators, performers, and scholars interested in the music of LGBTQ+ band composers. Before submitting a suggested composer, please refer to the list of those already included to avoid duplicate entries.

Please be aware the results of this project will be made available to the public. If you are not out, or do not wish to identify as LGBTQ+, then please refrain from participating. By participating, you agree to have the information provided made public.

Edited, verified, and vetted results of this project will be compiled from voluntary composer submissions and trusted, citable sources. Living composers who did not submit their works directly to this project will be contacted before inclusion unless their identity as a member of the LGBTQ+ community is well-documented in print and/or other media and will be cited. A list of contributors to this project will also be made available.

As terms for sexuality and gender identity are 20th-century constructs, composers of the past may not have identified as such. Through examining their letters and other primary sources, some composers of the past will be included in this project whereas others won't.

Previously submitted composers

Jared Aragón
Troy Armstrong
Samuel Barber
Greg Bartholomew
Arthur Benjamin
Richard Rodney Bennett
Leonard Bernstein
John G. Bilotta
Clint Borzoni
Benjamin Britten
Oliver Caplan
John Carollo
Jason Charney
Desmond Child
Aaron Copland
John Corigliano
Noel Coward
Henry Cowell
Richard Crosby
Ingolf Dahl
David Del Tredici
David Diamond
Eric Dollerschell-Petry
Frank Duarte
Julius Eastman
Timothy Erickson
Mohammed Fairouz
Gareth Farr
Inti Figgis-Vizueta
Ronald Follas
Jamison Forge
Matt Frey
Rossano Galante
Alexandra Gardner
Julie Giroux
Anthony Green
Charles Griffes
Clare Grundman
Reynaldo Hahn
Joseph Hallman
Lee Hartman
Ralph Raymond Hays
Ricardo Hembree
Hanz Werner Henze
Jennifer Higdon
Wataru Hokoyama
Salvador Alan Jacobo
Elton John
Kevin Kay
Olivia Kieffer
Eric Knechtges
Chris Lamb
Gwen-Marie Lerch
Robert Maggio
Andrew McManus
Sonia Megias
Gian Carlo Menotti
Cooper Minnis
Nicole Murphy
Jeffrey Ouper
Liam Piper-Brandon
Cole Porter
Francis Poulenc
Justin Raines
Steven Reineke
Ned Rorem
Camille Saint-Saëns
Robert Sheldon
Steven Serpa
Paul Siskind
Brin Solomon
Stephen Sondheim
Randall Standridge
Ingrid Stölzel
Conrad Susa
Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky
Virgil Thomson
Michael Tippett
Mari Esabel Valverde

To submit an entry, please visit

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Lee Hartman to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Hartman: Etudes for Solo Vibraphone
Hartman: Habanera ritmico
Hartman: HyperMazurka
Hartman: Concerto for Vibraphone
Hartman: Barbaresque

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore